Hobbies for the 20-something

FullSizeRender

You know what question I fucking hate other than, “Where do you see yourself five years from now?” It’s, “What do you like to do for fun?”

My inner dialogue then goes off on this internal panic:

UM excuse me, sir. Why are you all up in my grill, asking me things like you want to get to know me? Stop it. We both know I will be heavily evaluated based on my response. You are prying into my (very uneventful) personal life and I do not appreciate it.

And now I feel like I need to prove to you that I have fun. For the record, I do have fun. I just can’t think of any examples right now. Hmpf!

In all honesty, for me the normal person response should be “spending time with the people you enjoy, that way the fun just happens by being with them.” Fun isn’t dictated by specific activities for me. I don’t even find hobbies that fun. Hobbies just pass the time, okay? Okay?!?!

Anyways…

This blog is the sad result of an embarrassing amount of free time. If you convert all of your old study/homework/napping time from college into only Netflix time, you may quickly develop a problem. Therefore, hobbies actually become necessary at this point in life. Even if all they do is “pass the time.”

In college I hardly studied. As an English major I only had to write papers on material I sometimes read. In my free time I volunteered at an elementary school, napped, went out and committed myself to all those “mandatory” sorority-sisterhood-yadayadayada-events.

So how do I use my abundance of free time as a graduate (not including my job or my internship)? Well, my friends, I volunteer as a mentor for high school students. I slap some thoughts onto this here lovely blog. I watch  A LOT of telenovelas, maybe too many. Buuuuut I feel like I need to do more. Maybe something more active? More outside-sy? Maybe something less lame and more fun.

So I’m trying to compile a list of shit to do and skills to master as I slowly descend into adult life.

I figured that by this point into writing this post, some ideas would have popped into my head for me to list out for you guys. But I got nothin’. What a disappointment. Just like the these last 9 months of being graduated. lol

That’s postgrad for ya.

2 thoughts on “Hobbies for the 20-something

  1. I’m constantly trying to find more productive hobbies to do during my free time, and I sometimes come up with a lot, but never follow through with them because of laziness. Help! Really lovely picture by the way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

