A Letter For My Little Sisters

I wrote this for my little sis in my sorority and my younger sister who are both hitting 20 this year. I thought it would be fitting to share since I’m constantly yapping away about life here

Happy Birthday and welcome to the scariest decade of your life!

I think there are about a thousand articles on the internet about what to expect from your twenties (really, there’s a shit ton) and all of them say pretty much the same thing: it’s a massive feeling of uncertainty that never goes away. I’ve only lived three years of it myself, and I don’t think I have much down just yet lmao.

At 20 I didn’t feel much different, I felt like my age sounded older, but that was it. I will say that a lot began to change once I hit 20. Me at 18 vs me at 20 were almost two different people now that I look back. You’ve already changed since graduating high school, but expect a lot more shit to go down. Prepare yourself because some of it’s fun and some of it’s not.

My biggest advice: If you have a gut feeling about what you want to do, where you want to go, who you want to be, go with it! Your gut feeling is what will get you places. 20 is when I joined Alpha Chi and when I started planning for Spain, two hugely important decisions for my college career. Don’t let fear or “what ifs” keep you from following your gut. I literally had to be convinced by two people the night of the rush week registration deadline because I let my hesitation and fear get to me; dumb. And don’t ever let people talk you out of doing something when you know deep down it will be something that makes you happy. Unless it’s hard drugs or criminal activity, of course, in which case you have some other issues to discuss.

My biggest hope for you is to live out these last two years of college as loudly as possible. Take yourself into new environments. Expose yourself to all the people you can, study all you can, explore all you can. If you’re decided on your career look for internships and volunteer opportunities that will give you the experience you need when you graduate. Because, oh my god, that will save you SO much trouble once you hit postgrad. Keeping balance in college is hard, but I hope you do your best. Relationships with friends and a social life are just as important as academic success and career preparation, both aspects of college will develop you in different ways.

If you ever need help, I can practically provide a three-year preview on whatever you have concerns about. I’ll be your life cheat sheet if you will.

Enjoy your day (and your decade) because it’s going to be a hell of a ride.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

