I Quit Without Another Job Lined Up

My parents might kill me when they find out. Yes, I put my notice in for my part time job. I just couldn’t continue anymore. There’s a multitude of reasons for this.

I no longer live in Irvine and the hour commute to get there at 5:45am is death.

My wage was not equivalent to my job title and work I put in.

I decided to dedicate more time to my internship.

I’ve been there for almost three years, it was fucking time.

I’m graduated and I’m so fucking over it.

Fuck-you-half-baked.gif

Everyone has been waiting for me to leave. Friends, family, even some other coworkers. All knew that it was time. Leaving Chickfila became a running joke at work. A threat I told everyone but I would never follow through on (until now). I kept saying I was leaving but just ended up staying 8 months after graduation. Ridiculous. I didn’t think it would take so long to find another job. Life is full of surprises.

I was playing the waiting game. Waiting on a job offer, waiting for someone else to decide when I would quit, instead of just doing so myself. I admit, in part, I was probably a little scared. I was afraid of quitting with no job ready to go after, so I put it off. However, in doing so I realized that I had become stuck. I was stuck waiting on another opportunity. Too afraid to leave without having a paycheck coming in.

The idea still makes me nervous. The difference now though is that I do have something that will be occupying my time. It just doesn’t pay unfortunately. But it’s okay. I decided I have to invest a little now in order to get the experience I need, even if that might mean sometimes I won’t be bringing in the dollars I’d like. I have enough saved to take care of loan payments and I plan on getting another part time, just waaayyyy closer to home.

However, as of now my priority remains my internship and demonstrating the importance the position holds for me to the rest of the team I work with.

If only you knew how big of a step this is for me. Maybe you do. Leaving my college job in some sense is me finally closing the chapter of my undergrad life. It was the last step and now, my connection to that life is officially over. I am officially done with Irvine and officially in the next chapter of my life. And it feels absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

